Abstract registration

General Information

The purpose of this workshop is to get an overall picture of the different numerical schemes and codes used in the field of planet-disc interactions. Since the publication a decade ago of de Val-Borro et al. (2006), the problematics of planet-disc interactions have significantly evolved and new generations of schemes and techniques have emerged.

One of the objectives of this workshop would be to encourage a new code comparison project, which could include topics such as three-dimensional and small-scale aspects of the flow, gap opening, and others that may be suggested during the workshop.

The workshop will be held over the period Nov 20-24, 2017, in CIC , just across the street from the Institute of Physical Sciences of UNAM, in Cuernavaca (about 70 km south of Mexico City). Facilities at CIC include a large number of offices (enough so that each participant can have her/his own office) and two seminar rooms. The format of the meeting will consist in informal talks during the morning, and work or brainstorming sessions in the afternoons.

Excerpt from de Val-Borro et al. (2006): "Communication is also hugely important [...] Better still would have been to have held a longer workshop (perhaps a week) where everyone could gather, discuss and run their codes together."


The two main options for lodging, for which the participants can benefit from negotiated rates, include: the Posada Tlaltenango (~50 EUR – 60 USD/night, breakfast included), which is a hotel about 5 km away from CIC (15-25 min drive, ride cost with Uber: 3 EUR/3.7 USD), or a guesthouse which is often used by organizers of gathering events at the CIC, 10 km away from the CIC (30-45 min drive, ride cost with Uber: 7.5 EUR/9 USD). A night at the guesthouse costs 35 EUR/42 USD and includes dinner and breakfast. A total of six rooms are available at the guesthouse, while the Posada has a sufficient number of rooms to accomodate all participants. If you want to be either at the Posada or at the guesthouse, just tell us and we will make a group reservation so as to benefit from the negotiated rates quoted above. Requests to be at the guesthouse will be honoured on a first come, first served basis.

You can also make your own plans if you prefer. Since Uber operates in Cuernavaca, moving around is relatively easy. Many options are available, such as:

Note that there is no hotel at a walking distance from CIC.



The nearest and most convenient airport is the International Airport of Mexico City (MEX). From there, you can take an Uber car (the ride cost in the UberX category ranges from 40 EUR/46 USD to 53 EUR/ 63 USD, and takes 1h30 – 2h). For your arrival, this is the simplest option. This page will be updated in due time to provide accurate destination information for the Posada Tlaltenango, the guesthouse or any other destination chosen by the participants. Those who have already come to Cuernavaca, or are fluent Spanish speakers, may also consider the option of taking a bus (Pullman de Morelos) from the airport to Cuernavaca (the one-way ticket is about 12 EUR-14 USD), and then a cab. For your departure, you will get help from the LOC to go to the airport on a direct bus.


Note that limited funds are available for travel support or for local expenses. Please do not hesitate to contact us.



The following persons have confirmed their participation to the workshop, or expressed their willingness to participate:


Gennaro D’Angelo (SETI Institute)

Pawel Artymowicz (Univ. of Toronto)

Pablo Benítez-Llambay (Niels Bohr Institute)

Eduard Bopp (MPIA)

Augusto Carballido (Baylor University)

Simon Casassus (Univ. of Chile)

Aurélien Crida (OCA)

Paul Duffell (Berkeley)

Mark Fletcher (Univ. of Leicester)

Jeffrey Fung (Berkeley)

Oliver Gressel (Niels Bohr Institute)

Tomoyuki Hanawa (Univ. of Chiba)

Fergus Horrobin (Univ. of Toronto)

Alejandra Jímenez (UNAM)

Willy Kley (Univ. of Tübingen)

Leonardo Krapp (Niels Bohr Institute)

Elena Lega (OCA)

Wladimir Lyra (Northridge)

Colin McNally (QMUL)

Frédéric Masset (UNAM)

Diego Muñoz (Northwestern)

Sijme-Jan Paardekooper (QMUL)

Orkan Umurhan (NASA Ames)

Miguel de Val-Borro (NASA GFSC)

David Velasco (UNAM)

Zhaozhuan Zhu (Univ. of Nevada)


Organizing committee


Scientific Organizing Committee


Willy Kley

Wladimir Lyra

Frédéric Masset

Miguel de Val-Borro

Local Organizing Committee


Alejandra Jímenez

Frédéric Masset

David Velasco